Workshop 2: Introduction to Using the Command Line in your BitCurator environment

Monday, March 27, 2023 - 12:00-2:00pm PT / 3:00-5:00pm ET / 8:00-10:00pm BST

Workshop registration limit: 20 participants

Jessica Whyte, University of Toronto, with help from Andy Foster, Ken Lui, and Tessa Walsh 

This workshop is a gentle introduction to the command-line environment, but with a BitCurator slant.

The topics we’ll cover are:

  • Knowing your environment (finding your Ubuntu and Bitcurator version).
  • Command line navigation (commands like ls, pwd, and cd)
  • Moving and finding files (cp, mv, find, tree)
  • File permissions (why can’t I open this or edit this?)

If there’s time, we’ll also cover installing +/or updating packages and automating common commands with “for loops.” This workshop will not cover installing BitCurator.

Participants will ideally attend from a BitCurator machine. If you can’t attend from a BitCurator system, please have instead:

  • A computer with a bash shell terminal,
    • For Mac and Linux Users: You can launch the pre-installed “terminal” application from the applications menu or search bar by typing “terminal.”
    • For Windows Users: You may install the Linux subsystem for Windows 10, or try https://shell.cloud.google.com. Shell.cloud.google.com requires a Google account and it creates a temporary system with browser-based shell access. This temporary shell won’t have the same applications installed as BitCurator, but we can work around that. I recommend though that you try it out first, ahead of time.

The format of the workshop will be instruction -> break -> small group Q&A.

Please feel free to get in touch with jessica.whyte@utoronto.ca beforehand if you have questions.

Back to Forum Schedule