Session 2

Tuesday, March 19, 2024 - 1:30-2:30 PM PT / 4:30-5:30 PM ET / 8:30-9:30 PM GMT

Digital Archiving in the BitCurator Era: Perspectives from SILS Alumni

Brenna Edwards, Harry Ransom Center, The University of Texas at Austin;
Hyeeyoung Kim, Briscoe Center for American History, The University of Texas at Austin;
Hannah Wang, U.S. National Archives and Records Administration;
David Tenenholtz, The RAND Corporation

The School of Information and Library Science (SILS) at The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill has been participating in the BitCurator Project since its inception and has graduated many digital archivists into the field with extensive knowledge of this tool. Once in the field, these digital archivists continue to learn and develop their toolkits according to the needs of their institution(s) and the changing professional paradigm.

This panel, comprised of four SILS graduates who attended between 2014 and 2018, will reflect on how what we learned in the classroom applies to our real world experiences and how our perspectives have changed, with an emphasis on the value of the BitCurator environment and involvement in the wider community over the years. Framed as a conversation between panelists, this session will reflect on how the BitCurator environment influences our frameworks, toolkits, workflows, and advocacy. Panelists will also touch on the maturing of the profession, with the goal of finding a way forward together as the field continues to evolve.

Back to Forum Schedule