Events

BitcuratorEdu Educators' Summit

BitCurator Advocacy Workshop

1:00-2:00pm Pacific / 4:00-5:00pm Eastern Nick Connizzo, Independent Archivist; Nancy McGovern, MIT; Kelsey O’Connell, Northwestern University; Kari Smith, MIT; Hannah Wang, BitCuratorEdu Project A workshop on creating an advocacy plan for installing and implementing BitCurator at your school or institution, based on the BitCurator advocacy … Read more →

BitcuratorEdu Educators' Summit

Building an Anti-Racist Digital Curation Curriculum

11:30am-12:30pm Pacific / 2:30-3:30pm Eastern Jessica Farrell, BitCuratorEdu Project; Grace Muñoz, UCLA; Ricky Punzalan, University of Michigan iSchool; Hannah Wang, BitCuratorEdu Project Recent events such as the disproportionate impact of COVID-19 on minoritized communities, ongoing police brutality and anti-Black violence, and the increasing number of … Read more →

BitcuratorEdu Educators' Summit

Getting Started: Independent Learning with Digital Forensics Tools

10:15-11:15am Pacific / 1:15-2:15pm Eastern Amy Berish, Rockefeller Archive Center; Jerman Brenning, Mid Sweden University; Alison Rhonemus, New York Public Library; Tessa Walsh, Artefactual  A panel discussion on independent learning with BitCurator, including some technical aspects of how to get started and transitioning from being … Read more →

BitcuratorEdu Educators' Summit

Digital Preservation & Curation Training Roundtable

9:00-10:00am Pacific / 12:00-1:00pm Eastern Jessica Farrell, BitCurator Consortium; Sharon McMeekin, Digital Preservation Coalition; Lauren Sorensen, Digital Preservation Outreach & Education Network; Hannah Wang, BitCuratorEdu Project A panel discussion on recent studies and efforts in continuing education to provide training in digital preservation and curation … Read more →

BitCurator Users Forum. October 12-14, 2021. Virtual Conference. bitly/BUF2021. #BUF21. Image of USB cord

Session 3: BitCurator

8:15 am – 9:20am Pacific / 11:15 am – 12:20pm Eastern Leveling Up on Preservation: Using BitCurator Reports to Better Preserve State Archives Materials Jamie Patrick-Burns, State Archives of North Carolina In 2020 the State Archives of NC (SANC) adopted a “levels of preservation” document … Read more →

BitCurator Users Forum. October 12-14, 2021. Virtual Conference. bitly/BUF2021. #BUF21. Image of USB cord

Workshop 3: Legal & Ethical Due Diligence for Providing Access to Born-Digital Collections

1:15pm – 2:15pm Pacific / 4:15pm – 5:15pm Eastern Legal & Ethical Due Diligence for Providing Access to Born-Digital Collections Kate Dundon, University of California Santa Cruz; Jessika Drmacich, Williams College In February 2020, the DLF Born-Digital Access Working Group (BDAWG) identified a need for … Read more →

BitCurator Users Forum. October 12-14, 2021. Virtual Conference. bitly/BUF2021. #BUF21. Image of USB cord

Session 6: Tools/Demos Showcase

12:00pm – 1:00pm Pacific / 3:00pm – 4:00pm Eastern What Would You QEMU? Ethan Gates, Yale University Library QEMU (Quick EMUlator) is a powerful open-source program for emulation and virtual machine management. In this lightning talk, I will discuss its potential application in digital archive … Read more →

BitCurator Users Forum. October 12-14, 2021. Virtual Conference. bitly/BUF2021. #BUF21. Image of USB cord

Session 5: Access and Discoverability

9:15am-10:00am Pacific / 12:15pm-1:00pm Eastern Virtual Reading Rooms: Remote Access in Ethical and Responsible Ways Shelly Black, North Carolina State University; Annalise Berdini, Princeton University; Greg Cram, The New York Public Library Virtual reading rooms provide remote, mediated access to digitized and born-digital archival materials … Read more →

BitCurator Users Forum. October 12-14, 2021. Virtual Conference. bitly/BUF2021. #BUF21. Image of USB cord

Session 1: Remote Workflows

8:30 am – 9:35am Pacific / 11:30 am-12:35pm Eastern DARTing to the Future: Remote File Transfers During the COVID-19 Pandemic Christina Velazquez Fidler, The Bancroft Library, University of California, Berkeley; Andrew Diamond, APTrust During the Covid-19 pandemic and subsequent lockdown, The Bancroft Library explored how … Read more →

BitCurator Users Forum. October 12-14, 2021. Virtual Conference. bitly/BUF2021. #BUF21. Image of USB cord

Workshop 2: Intro to Digital Forensics/BitCurator

12:45pm – 2:15pm Pacific / 3:45pm – 5:15pm Eastern Intro to Digital Forensics/BitCurator Amy Berish, Rockefeller Archive Center; David Cirella, Yale University; Satya Miller, University of Ottawa; Katie Martin, Rockefeller Archive Center; Hannah Wang, Educopia Institute In the past, the “Intro to Digital Forensics” class … Read more →

BitCurator Users Forum. October 12-14, 2021. Virtual Conference. bitly/BUF2021. #BUF21. Image of USB cord

Session 4: Troubleshooting

9:30am – 10:30am Pacific / 12:30pm – 1:30pm Eastern Restart It Again: Troubleshooting in Context Nick Krabbenhoeft, Ben Turkus, and Alison Rhonemus, New York Public Library; Caroline Gil Rodríguez Troubleshooting isn’t something that should be approached haphazardly. And unfortunately, there is little available training in … Read more →

BitCurator Users Forum. October 12-14, 2021. Virtual Conference. bitly/BUF2021. #BUF21. Image of USB cord

Workshop 1: Fostering Meaningful Student Worker Experience

1:00pm-2:30pm Pacific / 4:00-5:30pm Eastern Fostering Meaningful Student Worker Experience Jessica Venlet, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Libraries Libraries, Wilson Special Collections; Clare Carlson, Lindahl Reed Inc. Staffing for digital preservation is a known challenge and many of us who manage digital archives … Read more →

BitCurator Users Forum. October 12-14, 2021. Virtual Conference. bitly/BUF2021. #BUF21. Image of USB cord

Session 2: Iteration and Scalability

10:30am – 11:30am Pacific / 1:30pm – 2:30pm Eastern To Disk Image, Or Not to Disk Image?: Identifying Potential Factors for Disk Imaging in Digital Archival Workflows Elise Tanner, UA Little Rock Center for Arkansas History and Culture; Dianne Dietrich, Cornell University Library; Lara Friedman-Shedlov, … Read more →

Great Question! April 2021

BCC Membership Committee

The BitCurator Consortium was pleased to facilitate a free, public virtual event called Great Question! on April 23, 2021 from 2-3:30 PM Eastern Daylight Time (UTC -4). The recording is available below, along with a “transcript” (Airtable database) of the questions raised and answers shared. … Read more →

BitCurator Users Forum. October 12-14, 2021. Virtual Conference. bitly/BUF2021. #BUF21. Image of USB cord

BitCurator Users Forum 2021

Open to all! The two-day forum will balance discussion of theory and practice of digital forensics and related digital analysis workflows with hands-on activities for users at all levels of experience with the BitCurator environment, digital forensics methods in general, and other tools for use … Read more →

BitCurator Consortium Roundtable: practice // values : situating digital forensics tools in archives

BItCurator Consortium

A discussion of different experiences mediating between software tools and born-digital materials and the ethical considerations of this work.

BitCurator Users Forum Virtual Conference, October 13-16, 2020

BitCurator Users Forum 2020

Open to all! The two-day forum will balance discussion of theory and practice of digital forensics and related digital analysis workflows with hands-on activities for users at all levels of experience with the BitCurator environment, digital forensics methods in general, and other tools for use … Read more →

BitCurator Consortium Roundtable: The Ethics of Born-Digital Collecting

Alex Chassanoff, BitCurator Consortium

In the Spring and Fall of 2019, the BitCurator Consortium (BCC) will facilitate a series of online roundtable discussions on topics of interest for born-digital cultural heritage communities. Our first round-table took place on March 22 and explored “The Ethics of Born-Digital Collecting.” We were … Read more →

BitCurator Consortium Webinar – BitCurator NLP Project

Cal Lee, Kam Woods, BitCurator Consortium

This is a recording of a BitCurator Consortium public webinar on “BitCurator NLP Project”. The BitCurator NLP project has been developing software for collecting institutions to extract, analyze, and produce reports on features of interest in text extracted from born-digital materials. The project is adapting … Read more →

Advanced Topics Webinar – BCA Webtools

Cal Lee, Kam Woods, BitCurator Consortium

This is a recording of a BitCurator Consortium webinar on BitCurator Access WebTools, the third of a series of webinars on BitCurator advanced topics! These webinars are designed to dig a little deeper into the advanced functionality of the BitCurator software environment, and to provide … Read more →

Become a member

Membership is open to libraries, archives, museums, and other institutions worldwide that seek a collaborative community within which they may explore and apply forensics approaches and solutions to their digital collections.

Join Today