Session 5

Wednesday, March 20, 2024 - 12:00-1:00 PM PT / 3:00-4:00 PM ET / 7:00-8:00 PM GMT

The Relational Possibilities Data Art Project: Remixing, Decolonizing, and Connecting Digital Community Archives and Data Science

Dana Reijerkerk, LEADING Fellowship, Drexel University and Temple University Libraries
kYmberly Keeton, PhD Candidate, University of North Texas

This talk explores the relational possibilities between art, data science, generative artificial intelligence, and born-digital materials in cloud-based digital ecosystems by celebrating the creativity of a digital community archive data science project titled “Relational Possibilities: A Remix of Aesthetic Forms Through Indigeneity and Blackness.” We will emphasize new ways to reimagine digital archives with innovative, sustainable sociotechnical workflows and free digital tools. At the end of the talk, attendees can participate in imagining a vision of a Black and Indigenous future beyond the settler colonial state by taking and contributing their own digital photo to the digital community archive.

As the seminal collaboration between The Creative CoLab, “Relational Possibilities” is a digital community archive data science project that explores community relations and futurist realities of Indigeneity and Blackness through artists, writers, and public art in Philadelphia. “Relational Possibilities” pulls together original datasets, generative artificial intelligence imagery, an itch.io video game, podcast, vignettes, and curatorial statements into two distinct, interconnected virtual museums. Through a lens of community, visitors experience the shared history of African Americans in Philadelphia through 14 Black visual and literary artists and the stories of climate racism, Indigeneity, and climate change that public art and environmental histories tell.

Back to Forum Schedule